Cannabis is and has been legal in Michigan for some time now, but does that mean residents can walk around buying, selling and smoking marijuana? No. In addition to the fact that there are still several kinks Michigan lawmakers need to work out regarding the possession, sale and distribution of marijuana, there are also dos and don’ts of cannabis that residents need to know.
According to the Detroit Metro Times, any person who is 21 years of age or older can legally possess and use marijuana. However, persons may not possess the drug on school property, school bus or in a correctional institution.
The law also stipulates how much a person may have in his or her possession at any given time. A single person may lawfully possess 10 ounces of the plant at any given time. However, he or she may only have 2.5 ounces out at once; the person in possession must lock up the remaining 7.5 ounces. Violation of this law may result in a civil infraction and a $100 fine.
As for growing, the law stipulates that an adult may produce as many as 12 plants on his or her own property. If a resident cultivates marijuana, there is no limit to how much in weight he or she may possess. The plants, however, must be indoors or in a locked enclosure outdoors. The plants cannot be visible to the public.
Outside of obtaining a medical marijuana card, there is still no way for the general public to purchase marijuana on a recreational basis. However, individuals may gift up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis to other adults or up to 15 grams of concentrate for free.
Normal explains when actions involving cannabis cross into illegal territory. For instance, selling or distributing more than five ounces of marijuana is a felony that carries a penalty of between four and 15 years in prison and a monetary penalty of between $20,000 and $10,000,000, depending on the amount of the plant in question. Cultivating between 25 and 200 plants is also a felony that carries up to seven years behind bars and a $500,000 fine. Growing more than 200 plants carries a prison term of up to 15 years and a fine of up to $10,000,000.