According to USCCA, carrying a concealed weapon can be charged as long as the weapon that is being concealed cannot be easily seen. It does not need to be completely hidden. So what are the penalties for being in violation of Michigan’s carrying concealed weapons law? Well, if you’re convicted of carrying a concealed weapon in the state of Michigan, it is punishable by up to five years in prison. There’s also a fine of up to $2500 plus costs, and in addition to that, your firearm gets forfeited.
The rules for carrying a concealed weapon in a vehicle are different than when you’re out of the vehicle. However, the penalty is still a five year felony. Even where the gun is visible in plain view, it is still considered to be in violation of Michigan’s carry concealed law. So whether the gun is in the glove box or in plain view on the seat, it is considered to be in violation of Michigan’s carry concealed weapons law. If you don’t have a license to carry, the only legal way to carry it in your vehicle is unloaded in the trunk in a closed box. If you don’t have a trunk, it needs to be unloaded and as far away as possible from other people in the vehicle.
They’re several defenses to carrying a concealed weapon. First off, if you’re licensed to carry, you’ve got a great defense. If you are carrying properly, you’ve got a great defense. If it’s in a vehicle case and you are properly transporting the weapon, you got another good defense. It’s also possible that the firearm wasn’t yours or you didn’t know it was there. Every case is different. There are certain places that you can’t even open carry at, like a bank, a church, hospitals and daycares or a court. A first violation is a 90 day misdemeanor, and also includes fines and costs.
This information is not legal advice.